SMS Control for R410M

Hi,

I am a complete newby to Sodaq so please forgive a potentially easy question!

I am thinking of buying the SODAQ SARA Small Form Factor (SFF) R410M which I understand will work in many countries around the world. Although I use Arduino regularly, I have never worked with these IoT modules before. So I have some questions:

• Can I send SMS messages to the device to control its functions? I don’t need anything else other than simple messages to control the board. The simpler the better.

• Will I have to do anything special to make SIM cards work around the world or do I just plug them in and they start working?

• When the board is idle, i.e. connected to the network but not transmitting or doing anything else, what it the power consumption? Low (average) power is very important to me.

That’s it. These boards look fantastic so I really hope that I will be able to use them for my project! :slight_smile:

Snudge

I’ll try and answer most of your questions:

Q: Can I send SMS messages to the device to control its functions? I don’t need anything else other than simple messages to control the board. The simpler the better.
A: Not sure, I haven’t used SMS myself. I’ve been working with UDP messages.

Q: Will I have to do anything special to make SIM cards work around the world or do I just plug them in and they start working?
A: You do need to set some settings depending on the SIM provider you have. APN names and such.

Q: When the board is idle, i.e. connected to the network but not transmitting or doing anything else, what it the power consumption? Low (average) power is very important to me.
A: The board draws a decent ammount of power in IDLE mode, luckily the board has a Power Save mode in which it draws 3-4uA in which it can remain connected to the network.